Agenda 2063

The Agenda 2063 Women’s Photojournalism Award 2021

The African Union and GIZ have joined forces to launch the Agenda 2063 Africa Photojournalism Project for African Female Journalists. 

Pictures have the power to reflect everyday life experiences and are a valuable tool for storytelling. They capture a moment in time in history and also have the power to transport one to faraway places. 

Agenda 2063 Women’s Photojournalism Award

The agenda 2063 Africa Photojournalism Project aims to inspire photojournalists from all across the continent to share powerful images telling Africa’s story from an African perspective. The Project also aims to capacitate journalists by providing them with training that will enhance their craft and storytelling ability through the use of imagery.  The Project is in line with Africa’s Development Strategy Agenda 2063 which provides the framework for Africa’s socio-economic growth agenda through the implementation of key projects that will transform the continent into a global powerhouse. The key to this transformation is changing the narratives and stereotypes about Africa and Africans and inculcating the spirit of Pan Africanism as envisioned in Aspiration 5 of Agenda 2063. 

Agenda 2063 Women’s Photojournalism Award winners will receive a cash prize of $2000 each.

The Project is also in line with the African Union Theme for the year 2021 “Art’s Culture and Heritage: Levers for Building the Africa We Work as it aims to tap into the artistic and creative aspects of journalism to portray Africa’s diversity, rich heritage and cultural diversity and the economic development and social transformation of the continent led by Africans.


Submissions are invited under the following categories, guided by aspirations of Agenda 2063:  

  • Category 1– Agriculture, rural environment, land rights , and skills development
  • Category 2– Regional economic integration, transport, and information infrastructure
  • Category 3– Good governance: Human rights, justice, and rule of law
  • Category 4 –Silencing the guns in Africa: Conflict prevention and transformation, mediation 
  • Category 5– Youth and women 
  • Category 6– Democracy and digitalization
  • Category 7– Africa’s young research excellence and innovative solution building 


  1. Professional and amateur photographers are invited to submit their work. Both published and unpublished works are permitted.
  2. Participants must have the nationality of a member state of the African Union, and be at least eighteen years of age.
  3. Only pictures taken in a member state of the African Union are permitted. 
  4. Applicants can submit up to two entries across all categories.
  5. Joint submissions are permitted provided the submitted images are authored by the entrants.
  6. The photographer(s) must be the author(s) of the pictures submitted in his/her/their name, and own the copyright or have been authorized by the copyright holder(s) to submit the pictures.
  7. Submitted images can be as a single picture or as part of a story, or as part of a body of work in long-term projects.
  8. Images must be free of any name or text on the image itself. Instead, a clear caption, in English, must be provided on submission.
  9. No entry fee is payable.
  10. Only entries submitted by 15th May 2021 will be considered.
  11. All entries must be submitted via the official contest form and must comply with the rules and eligibility criteria set. Entries sent in other ways, and/or that do not comply with the rules and eligibility criteria, will not be accepted. 
  12. Any entries that are late, illegible, fraudulent, or which bring/would be likely to bring the reputation of institutions into disrepute will be rendered ineligible to participate in the Awards and will be disqualified.
  13. You will grant African Union, and GIZ unrestricted, unfettered, and irrevocable non-exclusive rights in all works submitted for entry into the Awards (or where such rights are owned by a third party, you shall procure that such third party grants such rights), African Union, and/or GIZ to use such works in any way it determines in its sole discretion.
  14. Entries will be judged by a panel of distinguished, independent judges with appropriate knowledge and experience of photography. The panel of judges will be determined by all sponsors in its/their sole discretion and will meet btw May and June 2021.
  15. Judges reserve the right to not select entries that do not meet the required standards. 
  16. Judges reserve the right to transfer entries for consideration in other categories at their discretion. 
  17. The judges uphold the integrity and reputation of the Africa Photojournalism Awards and, as such, reserve the right to disqualify any piece of work and/or finalist if, in the judges’ opinion, there exists reasonable doubt about the authenticity and/or ownership of the submitted entry and/or the integrity of the finalists.
  18. The judges’ decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into.
  19. Categories and sponsors of the awards may be subject to change.
  20. Finalists will be required to sign affidavits of eligibility, confirming amongst other things copyright ownership and/or clearance of all images submitted, and containing releases granting, all sponsors of the Awards, the right to use their names, voices, pictures, and work submitted, without compensation, in any media for the purposes of advertising/public relations, training, exhibiting and promotion of all matters related to the Awards.
  21. You hereby consent that AU and GIZ may share the information you provide with the partners and judges of the Awards.
  22. Three finalists will be announced per category and one winner will be selected per category.
  23. All sponsors of the Awards disclaim any liability for loss to any person or property relating to the delivery and/or subsequent use of, or participation in, any of the prizes awarded. The winners agree to abide by any and all terms and conditions of the supplier(s) of the prizes.
  24. The Competition shall be covered and construed with international law. 
  25. You acknowledge that this is only competition and the awarding of any prize does not give rise to employment, agency, or joint venture relationship or arrangement between you and all the sponsors
  26. By submitting your entry, you confirm that you have read and agree with these rules.

How to Apply

Interested applicants for the Agenda 2063 Women’s Photojournalism Award are encouraged to follow the link below to apply;

Click here to Apply

Deadline: 15th May 2021


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.